Brian Buckley - Prison Public Memory Project

Brian Buckley is the Hudson Site Coordinator for the Prison Public Memory Project. Brian began working in Hudson during the summer of 2013 and returned the following year after completing his bachelor's degree in American Studies at Grinnell College. In addition to coordinating events, community programming, and research projects for the Hudson site, Brian works with the Project to integrate new media technology and more conventional methods of history and storytelling.

Quintin Cross - Prison Public Memory Project

Quintin Cross guides the Prison Public Memory Project's activities with the African-American community in Hudson, New York. Quintin has a long history of service to his community including as Vice-President of his local NAACP chapter, founder of the Hudson African-American Leadership Alliance, and Majority Leader of the Hudson Common Council. Formerly incarcerated, Quintin is now President and CEO of the Staley B. Keith Social Justice Center.

Emily Hainze - Prison Public Memory Project

Emily Hainze collaborates with Prison Public Memory Project on the development of a curriculum for use of our archives in the classroom.  Emily is a doctoral candidate specializing in 19th and 20th century American literature at Columbia University.  Her dissertation explores the development of the women’s incarceration in the United States and its relationship to literary form and genre.  She is also a 2014-2015 Public Humanities Fellow at the Heyman Center for the Humanities.

Tracy Huling - Prison Public Memory Project

Tracy Huling is Founder/Director of the Prison Public Memory Project. She also writes for and edits stories for the Project's website. Tracy works at the convergence of culture and public policy with a long history of using storytelling, new media, filmmaking, research, policy analysis and coalition-building to achieve change. She is best known for her work on prisons and communities and has published widely on this subject. She is also a Soros Justice Fellow with the Open Society Foundations. Tracy lives in the Hudson Valley region of New York.

Russ Immarigeon - Prison Public Memory Project

Russ Immarigeon conducts archival research and writes about the history of the girls' training school in Hudson, NY for the Prison Public Memory Project. He also contributes stories for the Project's website. He has written for numerous publications on community corrections, prison management, and restorative justice and has edited several books on crime desistance, women and girls in the criminal justice system, and, most recently, prisoner reentry. Based in Columbia County, NY, Russ is also a local town and village court justice. 

Tobi Jacobi - Prison Public Memory Project

Tobi Jacobi collaborates with the Prison Public Memory Project on community learning and dialogue around issues of women's and girls' incarceration during the 1920s and 1930s. Tobi is an Associate Professor of English at Colorado State University where she teaches courses on writing and literacy theory with a specialization in the work of incarcerated women writers. Her edited collection, Women, Writing, and Prison: Activists, Scholars, and Writers Speak Out, was published in 2014.

Matthew McCarthy - intern from Grinnell College

Matthew McCarthy is an intern with the Prison Public Memory Project. Matt is majoring in History and concentrating in Central and Eastern European Studies at Grinnell College and is interested in the digital humanities. Throughout the summer, Matt will be conducting research on the House of Refuge for Women and assisting in the development of the Project’s website. 

Laura Rogers - Prison Public Memory Project

Laura Rogers collaborates with the Prison Public Memory Project on community activities interpreting primary source material on the Training School for Girls from the period 1920-1935. She is Assistant Professor of Rhetoric and Composition and the Director of the Writing Center at the Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences. Laura has a long history of teaching writing inside correctional facilities and her current research focuses on the history of prison writing groups and archival material from the Hudson Training School.

Liesl Schnabel - intern from Grinnell College

Liesl Schnabel is a former summer research intern for the Prison Public Memory Project. She graduated from Grinnell College with a double major in Gender, Women's and Sexuality Studies and Psychology, and her primary areas of interest include women's history and human rights issues. Liesl is collaborating with the Prison Public Memory Project on a research project investigating the psychological treatment practices at the New York State Training School for Girls between 1904-1925. 

Geoff Ward - Prison Public Memory Project

Geoff Ward collaborates with the Prison Public Memory Project on scholarship about the history of race and juvenile prisons. He also writes stories for the Prison Public Memory Project website. Geoff is Associate Professor of Criminology, Law & Society at the University of California, Irvine. He is the author of an award-winning book, The Black Child Savers: Racial Democracy and Juvenile Justice, published by University of Chicago Press.

Community Partners


We thank the following organizations and funders for their support of our work:


The Prison Public Memory Project Team would like to thank the following individuals for their very special contributions to our work in Hudson, New York.

Aaltan Ahmad
Mary Allen
Mary Bacon
Nina Bernstein
Judith Brink
Emily Chameides
Mae Colburn
Alison Cornyn
Alexandra Cox
John Craig
Megan Crawford
Jack Danger
Karen dePyster
Joe D'onofrio
Frances Drabick
Lisa Durfee
Ruth DuFault
Timothy Dunleavy
Pat Fenoff

Nicole Fleetwood
James Folts

Robert Freeman
Cedrick Fulton


Enid Futterman
Tiffany Garriga
Karen Gray
Alice Green
Melissa Gavilanes
Gloria Hollenbeck
Sylvia Honig
Mary Hughes
Kathleen Hulser
Joan Hunt
Mert Halit İzcan
Alexis Keith
Sara Kendall
David Kinlock
Lisa Lee
Jerry Leoni
Donna Lewin
Tamara Chehayeb Makarem
John Mason

Brad McCallum
Reverend Oscar McLaughlin
Hazel Murray
Jonathan Osofsky


Carol Osterink
Darby Penny
Fawn Potash
Carla Precht
Maija Reed
Rick Reineke
Brigette Sarabi
Phyllis Schultze
Sumayyah Shabazz
Alan Skerrett
Gale Smith
Suzanne Snider
Ben Snitkoff
Kay Stamer
Molly Stinchfield
Thomas Teich
Peter Tenerowicz
Sue Tenerowicz
Beth Thielen
Thomas Tunney
Lisa Weilbacker
Alice Weston